Professor William Irvine has recently been promoted to (Full) Professor of Physics. Congratulations William!


Congratulations to Professor David Schmitz who is being promoted to Associate Professor with tenure.


Professor Margaret Gardel has been named the Horace B. Horton Professor of Physics. She has also been elected to the Chair line of the Division of Biological Physics of the American Physical Society.  Congratulations Margaret!


Professor Abigail Vieregg has recently been awarded the J. and J. Neubauer Faculty Development Fellowship in the College for innovative and effective teaching. Congratulations Abby!

Lipi Gupta_square_thumb.jpg

The Physical Sciences Division profiles graduate student Lipi Gupta. Read about Lipi here.


Congratulations to Professor Mark Oreglia who has recently been elected a Fellow of the American Physical Society "for broad contributions to electron-positron and proton-proton collider physics..."


Congratulations to Professor Vincenzo Vitelli who has recently been elected a Fellow of the American Physical Society "for theoretical contributions to the field of topological mechanics".


Congratulations to Professor LianTao Wang who has been elected a Fellow of the APS "for novel contributions to jet sub-structure studies..., facilitating LHC searches for Higgs boson, dark matter, supersymmetry and new dynamics in the electroweak sector..."


The department is sad to report the passing of Professor Emeritus Hellmut Fritzsche, who Chaired the Department of Physics from 1977 to 1986.  You can read more about him in this UChicago News Article.


Professor Shinsei Ryu has recently been named a Simons Investigator by the Simons Foundation. This award is given to "outstanding theoretical scientists."  Congratulations Shinsei!


The Department of Physics welcomes Professor David Awschalom to the faculty!  He is also a Professor in the Institute for Molecular Engineering.


Congratulations to Professor Daniel Holz who has been promoted to full Professor!